Tattoo

I had a dream the other night that I wrote this poem. So here it is. They say that you should be careful what you tattoo on your body, because a tattoo is permanent. You can’t erase it. And if you do happen to remove it, will it really be gone?

Tattoo

I tattooed your name across my heart,

and in return, you tattooed my name onto your sleeve.

We listened to love songs

And tried to change the world.

Spoken promises

Whispered sweet nothings.

Then one day you looked in the mirror, and decided you wanted something else.

You went to take a swim in the pool,

and we you returned your arm was blank.

All I had left was your name.

Leave a Reply

